Entrepreneurship and Innovation Programs
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Resources by Topic
Featured Journals
-
Harvard Business ReviewPresents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration. Coverage from October 1922 to present.
-
Journal of Business EthicsJournal of Business Ethics is dedicated to publishing original articles focused on ethical issues related to business.
-
Strategic Entrepreneurship JournalThe Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal (SEJ) is a general-interest entrepreneurship journal designed for scholars, entrepreneurs, managers, and policymakers interested in new venture creation, small-business management, technological innovation, economic growth, social entrepreneurship, and other topics related to entrepreneurship and innovation.
Scholarly Databases
-
Business Source Premier
Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Use the Business Searching Interface to easily browse leading publications and locate company and industry profiles, country reports, and SWOT analyses.
-
EconLitCovers a wide range of economic literature including economic theory and application. Includes journals, books, dissertations, collective volumes, and working papers in the field of economics.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Women's Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research including the areas of sociology, history, political science, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education.
Newspaper Databases
-
Regional Business NewsIncludes business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
-
Wall Street Journal Digital ArchiveSearchable archive of the Wall Street Journal back to the first issue of the newspaper with full page and article images. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. To access current issues of the Wall Street Journal, see the ProQuest Newspapers database.
Reference Sources
-
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
by
ISBN: 1461438586Publication Date: 2013-10-24The Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship (CI2E) is a three-volume electronic and print reference that uniquely covers the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region). The resource is comprised of some 300 topical entries, definitions of key terms and concepts, and review essays, from a global array of more than 250 researchers, business executives, policymakers, and artists, illuminating the many facets of creativity and innovation, and highlighting their relationships to such universal concepts as knowledge management, economic opportunity, and sustainability. Entries feature description of key concepts and definition of terms, full-color illustrations, case examples, future directions for research and application, synonyms and cross-references, and bibliographic references.
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
Country-Level Information
-
World Bank Open DataCountry-level data on economic and development indicators.
-
ILOSTAT: International Labor OrganizationCountry profiles include national figures for the latest available year. Data available includes indicators on labour force participation rates, employment-to-population ratio, Unemployment rates, informal employment rate, youth NEET rate, working poverty rate, and earnings.
-
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and DevelopmentThe OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is a forum and knowledge hub for data, analysis and best practices in public policy. Their website includes data, publications, and policy briefs.
Statistics and Data
-
Food & Agriculture of the United Nations (FAO)The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
-
Twin Cities Metropolitan CouncilThe Metropolitan Council is the regional policy-making body, planning agency, and provider of essential services in the seven-county Twin Cities metro area. Our mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous region. Includes data, maps, publications and news on current services and projects in the areas of housing, parks, transportation, and more.
-
Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.
-
World Bank Open DataCountry-level data from the World Bank on economic and development indicators.
Scholarly Databases
-
Academic Search PremierInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
AfricaBib
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
-
GEOBASEInternational index to the literature of geology, geography, urban geography, and ecology. Includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
-
Race Relations AbstractsScholarly articles, books and dissertations on national and international race/ethnicity relations, both contemporary and historical.
-
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Social Science Open Access RepositoryDatabase of open access journal articles and working papers in the social sciences. Useful for finding scholarship written and published outside of the U.S. Use the Disciplines feature to limit your search to a specific subject area.
Newspaper Databases
-
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Selected Books and Articles
-
Double Minority Status and Neighborhoods: Examining the Primacy of Race in Black Immigrants' Racial and Socioeconomic Segregation, by Rebecca Tesfai. Published in City & Community. Jun2019, Vol. 18 Issue 2, p509-528. 20pArticle Abstract
Sociologists have long viewed spatial assimilation as a measure of minorities' socioeconomic progress. While assimilation increases as socioeconomic status (SES) improves, blacks remain more highly segregated than any other race/ethnic group. I use the locational attainment model to determine whether black immigrants—like their U.S.‐born counterparts—are highly segregated. This paper broadens the segregation literature by determining: (1) black immigrant segregation patterns after controlling for individual‐level characteristics, (2) the extent to which segregation varies by location, and (3) if racial segregation has the same socioeconomic consequences for U.S.‐ and foreign‐born blacks. I find that black immigrants face high racial and socioeconomic segregation in mainly Caribbean settlement areas. However, black immigrants in all but two predominantly African settlement areas experience no segregation. Essentially, I find that there is a great deal of diversity in black immigrants' segregation patterns stemming from differential treatment in the housing market based on African immigrants' higher SES and/or African immigrants' residential choices. Results in the two outlier African settlement areas (Minneapolis and Washington, D.C.) suggest that entry visa may play an important role in black segregation. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Scholarly Databases
-
ACM Digital LibraryArticles, reviews, etc, published in the Association for Computing Machinery's (ACM) periodicals and proceedings. Information on ACM periodicals and works published by affiliated organizations, as well as Tables of Contents for ACM Newsletters published since 1985, available.
-
arXiv
Open Access pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Newspaper Databases
-
Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN)Weekly magazine covering science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field. Browse through the issues from 1998 to present. Published by the American Chemical Society.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
PressReader Newspapers
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. Create a PressReader account in order to save articles, create collections, and read content offline. Must be on campus or connected to the VPN to create an account.
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Associations and Organizations
-
IEEE SpectrumIEEE Spectrum is the flagship publication of the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), the world’s largest professional organization devoted to engineering and applied sciences. The publication covers news and reports on AI, aerospace, climate tech, energy, consumer electronics, transportation, and more.
Selected Encyclopedias, Books and Articles
-
AI for Educators
by
ISBN: 9781956306484Publication Date: 2023-04-01Artificial intelligence may change the world more than the iPhone, the internet, or even electricity. It's bound to change education. (It already has.) But how? AI for Educators is a readable, relatable book about the impact of AI on the classroom -- today and in the future. It's super practical, giving you ideas and strategies you can use in class right away: It translates AI through a teacher lens; It provides practical ideas you can use in class right away; It unlocks powerful ways to streamline teaching and save time. It also paints a picture of the future our students will face--and provides questions you can help them grapple with. Teachers will find hope in this book -- hope that AI isn't all about cheating, hope that AI can save them time and empower them to do more, hope that all is not lost. It's written by Matt Miller, author of six books including Ditch That Textbook. Tens of thousands of educators all over the world have followed his ideas, guidance and wisdom for more than 10 years in his email newsletter, books, social media, and more. His clear, compelling voice makes this a page turner that'll equip you, inspire you, and entertain you.
Statistics and Data
-
World Bank Data: Education StatisticsCountry-level data including around 2,500 internationally comparable education indicators for access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. The indicators cover the education cycle from pre-primary to tertiary education. The query also holds learning outcome data from international learning assessments (PISA, TIMSS, etc.), equity data from household surveys, and projection data to 2050.
-
UNICEF DataUNICEF’s Data Team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world. Topics include education, health, nutrition, poverty, and migration of children and women.
-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest)
Note (updated 5/1/25): At this time, ERIC continues to be supported, but with some reduction in functionality. There has been uncertainty about the future of ERIC due to changes at the Department of Education. Please see our FAQ for more information.
Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
-
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Newspaper Databases
-
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
PressReader Newspapers
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. Create a PressReader account in order to save articles, create collections, and read content offline. Must be on campus or connected to the VPN to create an account.
Associations and Organizations
-
National School Boards AssociationThe National School Boards Association (NBSA) website includes publications and research guides covering advocacy and legislation, school governance, school board policies, education technology, and school law. Note that some resources are only available to members.
Statistics and Data
-
IRS SOI Tax Stats: Migration DataMigration data for the United States are based on year-to-year address changes reported on individual income tax returns filed with the IRS. They present migration patterns by State or by county for the entire United States and are available for inflows—the number of new residents who moved to a State or county and where they migrated from, and outflows—the number of residents leaving a State or county and where they went. The data are available for Filing Years 1991 through 2022 and include:
Number of returns filed, which approximates the number of households that migrated
Number of personal exemptions claimed, which approximates the number of individuals
Total adjusted gross income
Aggregate migration flows at the State level -
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) ImmigrationTRAC is is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University. The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government. TRAC-Immigration deals in depth with how our nation's immigration laws are enforced in administrative and criminal courts by a wide variety of agencies. Reports include records of individual judges. A reference library containing government immigration studies and a glossary are also maintained.
Scholarly Databases
-
Academic Search PremierInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
-
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Newspaper Databases
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
-
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
-
HeinOnline
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
Newspaper Databases
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Think Tanks
-
Brookings InstituteAmerican think tank that conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, global economy, and economic development.
-
Center for Strategic and International StudiesThe center conducts policy studies and strategic analyses of political, economic and security issues throughout the world, with a specific focus on issues concerning international relations, trade, technology, finance, energy and geo-strategy.
-
Pew Research CenterSurvey data and analysis on U.S. politics and policy.
U.S. Government
-
Congress.GovSearch by policy subject area and many other parameters.
Associations and Organizations
-
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and DevelopmentThe OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is a forum and knowledge hub for data, analysis and best practices in public policy. Their website includes data, publications, and policy briefs.
-
AfricaBib
A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
-
PubMed
Contains publication in the area of health and medicine research. Includes MedLine which records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Links to full-text online holdings are listed where the citations match Macalester Library e-journal resources.
-
Web of Science
Note: The library has begun a subscription to Scopus as a replacement for our Web of Science subscription. Access to Web of Science will end on December 31, 2025.
Indexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Newspaper Databases
-
Nexis Uni
Credible source for news, legal, and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national, and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Access World News: Research Collection
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.