HIST 256-01: Transatlantic Slave Trade
Research guide to accompany HIST 256-01: Transatlantic Slave Trade.
Strategic Searching
Before you start searching for resources, pause to think about what exactly you are searching for:
- Write down key words, phrases, names, and dates that might relate to you topic.
- Brainstorm synonyms or words with related meanings.
- Think about historical language as well as modern. How do you find historical terminology? Try searching the Oxford Historical Thesaurus, which is embedded in the Oxford English Dictionary tool.
Pro tip: as you find primary and secondary sources, see what language they use, and add new terms to your list to help you refine additional searches!
Arts & Humanities and Special Collections Librarian
Best Bets
-
Historical Abstracts
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
-
America: History and Life
Index of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
-
eBooks (Gale)Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineResource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
-
Credo Reference
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
-
The Information-Literate Historian
by
Call Number: Stacks - Level 4 D16.2 .P715 2019ISBN: 9780190851491Publication Date: 2018-05-31The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students is the only book specifically designed to teach today's history students how to successfully select and use sources--primary, secondary, and electronic--to carry out and present their research. -
The Historian's Toolbox
by
ISBN: 1138632171Publication Date: 2019-12-11The Historian's Toolbox introduces students to the theory, craft, and methods of history and equips them with a series of tools to research and understand the past. -
The History Student Writers' Manual
by
Call Number: Stacks - Level 4 D13 .H4147 1998ISBN: 9780138747282Publication Date: 1997-10-10Brief, yet comprehensive, this user-friendly text/reference provides history students with practical advice about how to improve their writing and study skills while learning about history.
Primary Sources on the Slave Trade
-
Transatlantic Slave Trade Database The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.
-
Digital Public Library of America Materials from American libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
-
DocSouth Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Access to American books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints from 1639-1800
-
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 Access to American books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints from 1801-1819.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Digital facsimile page images of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Digital images of books published between 1701 and 1800 in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Includes significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century and works from the Americas.
-
African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection Digital collection from the Library of Congress comprised of pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. Materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches.
-
Slavery and Anti-slavery: A Transnational Archive Digital archive devoted to study and understanding of the history of slavery. Access to primary source documents shedding light on the abolitionist movement and the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization.
Finding Maps and Images
-
Digital Public Library of America Materials from American libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
-
Europeana This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
-
Artstor Note: Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform. View the Artstor on JTSOR video playlist for tutorials on the new site.Library of high quality digital images of artistic photographs and artwork from museums and collections worldwide.
-
Google Images Advanced SearchSelect "free to use or share" to find images that are licensed for reuse.
Newspapers and Periodicals
Recent Newspapers
-
US Newsstream (ProQuest) Current and archived news from over 700 United States and international news sources, including the Star Tribune, New York Times, The Times of London, and The Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni Offers a large selection of newspapers, periodicals, and wire services from around the world.
-
Access World News: Research Collection International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips.
Historical Newspapers - International
-
Center for Research Libraries' Newspaper Collections CRL's collection of rare, historical newspapers from across the globe, available on microfilm or digitized. Inquire with librarians for more information.
Historical US Newspapers and Periodicals
-
Newspapers.com Library Edition Full-text of local newspapers from the United States, including Minnesota, dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. Limited additional coverage of local newspapers from other countries.
-
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center. --Website
-
New York Times Archive Searchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
-
America's Historical Newspapers Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.
-
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections Digitized images from American magazines and journals held by the American Antiquarian Society, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes over 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content. Also titles in more than two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish.
-
Independent Voices Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
Chronicling America A free, searchable database of historic United States newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
Historical British Newspapers and Periodicals
-
The Times Historical Archive, 1785–2019 (Gale Primary Sources) Full-text and full-image archive to the Times of London for the years 1785-2019.
-
British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. Coverage: 1800-1900.
-
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) Access to resources covering the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Online Newspaper Collections
Wikipedia has a list of newspapers that are available online, sorted by country. Keep in mind that this list could be out of date and/or incomplete.