All Guides: Data Guide: Disappearing Data: Finding Data

Archived Data by Topic

Archives dedicated to data that are not available or are at risk in response to recent federal changes.

DataLumos
DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. They have an older version of many major datasets, including some from the CDC. This is the main repository for Data Rescue Project's data with added data from FEMA, the Department of Education, and IMLS.
Find Lost Data
Boston University tool to search for data across platforms. Crawls Archive.org CDC Mirror, Harvard Dataverse, Data Rescue Project, Climate Program Portal, Harvard LiL Data.gov Mirror, and DataLumos.
Roper Center
Cornell University, files from federal survey projects, focused on acquiring the files and ensuring backup copies are preserved on multiple servers.
Safeguarding Research
A forum focusing on creating an alternative infrastructure for archiving and disseminating cultural heritage and scientific knowledge.
Data Rescues 2025
Modeled after the 2016-2017 DataRescue movement that responded to hostile conditions towards environmental and climate science data, these ad hoc digital archiving volunteer events invite community members to apply their technical skills and social values in response to new threats to important data.
Data Liberation Project
An initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest.

CDC Datasets
Internet Archive CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025.
RestoredCDC.org
In-progress project to restore a site that can be navigated the same way the pre-January 21, 2025 CDC site
Harvard Dataverse - CAFE
Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection from the Harvard Dataverse.

Public Environmental Data Project
Volunteer coalition preserving federal data tools based on community input.
Climate & Economic Justice Screening Tool
The Environmental Data Governance Initiative (EDGI) and members of Public Environmental Data Partners (PEDP) stood up an unofficial but functional copy, restoring public access days after it was taken offline.

DataLumos
DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. They have an older version of many major datasets, including some from the CDC. This is the main repository for Data Rescue Project's data with added data from FEMA, the Department of Education, and IMLS.

IPUMS USA
IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

Other resources for finding data that are not necessarily in response to recent federal changes, but include valuable data.

Dryad
Open data publishing platform and a community committed to the open availability and routine re-use of all research data. Advocates for community-adopted standards for metadata and persistent identifiers in concert with DataCite, ORCID, ROR, and Funder Registry.
Data Liberation Project
An initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest.
ICPSR
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research's data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPUMS
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series from the Minnesota Population Center. Harmonized data from the Current Population Survey, American Community Survey, International censuses, National Health Interview Survey, and more.

CDC Datasets
Internet Archive CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025.
RestoredCDC.org
In-progress project to restore a site that can be navigated the same way the pre-January 21, 2025 CDC site
Harvard Dataverse - CAFE
Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection from the Harvard Dataverse.
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Copies of immunization schedules and contraceptive use guidance from the CDC.

Environmental Data & Governance Initiative
A a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right-to-Know (ERTK).

PolicyMap
Offers a free tier that can be used to view basic information down to the tract level.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Economic and some demographic data.
Greenlink Equity Map
Contains 46 demographic, energy, health, and housing indicators down to the tract-level with free access for community-based organizations; others require a subscription.
Census Reporter
A free, open-source platform focused on making American Community Survey (ACS) data more accessible, including the recent upload of the 2022 1-Year ACS data.