It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live." --Publisher's website
"The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."--Publisher's website
The New Encyclopedia of Islam is written by a scholar for the general reader and researcher, without assuming any prior knowledge of the subject. Detailed cross-references lead the reader into deeper knowledge of Islam, whatever his strarting point. Many quotations, and hitherto untranslated prayers, support the religious and philosphical entries.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Reference - Main Level BP133 .E53 2001 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2002-09-12
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Qurʼānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qurʼānic studies ... The online version includes ... the Qurʼān Concordance [compiled by: Thomas Milo]"--Publisher's web site
Authors for each essay and entries are noted, along with bibliographies of primary and secondary sources for the essays. A great starting place for research.
Reflects the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an accurate overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, most entries having cross-referencing to others and bibliographical references. Contain around 1000 pages and 500,000 words, totalling around 1200 entries.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies.
Call Number: eBook and MAC Reference - Main Level DS102.8 .E496 2007 v.1-22
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 4 BM50 .E63 2002 and online
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
The new encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements. This revised and expanded edition updates the original thousand entries and adds nearly 250 new ones. Magnificently illustrated, it also contains a new introduction, a guide for usage, new illustrations, as well as a new annotated bibliography.
The first encyclopedic guide to the history of relations between Jews and Muslims around the world from the birth of Islam to today. Features more than 150 authoritative entries by leading experts in history, politics, literature, anthropology, and philosophy.