Music
Selected resources for Music.
Multidisciplinary reference sources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowIntegrated music resource including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Provides links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: eBook
The SAGE international encyclopedia of music and culture by Call Number: eBook
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Call Number: MAC Reference - Main level: ML102.P66 G84 1998 and eBook
The Oxford Handbook of Critical Concepts in Music Theory by Call Number: eBook
Musical Performance by Call Number: MAC Lower Level - Music Collection ML457 .M863 2002 and eBook
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Call Number: eBook
The Cambridge History of World Music by Call Number: eBook
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Integrated music resource including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Provides links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.
- Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window Text content from various publishers. Includes encyclopedias, scores, manuscripts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, cover art, lyrics, liner notes, songs, and discographies.
- Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window More than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, including: Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia surveys world music by region and topics. This comprehensive resource contains more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 experts. It also includes audio examples.