Provides article references for journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. Offers cited reference searching.
BASEThis link opens in a new windowA search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
Digital Library of the CaribbeanThis link opens in a new windowdLOC is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean region that provides access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of materials include; newspapers, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral histories, travel accounts, literature, poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts. Contains entries with information about specific performances in the Caribbean
Digital Public Library of AmericaThis link opens in a new windowDPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
HathiTrust Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Gale Literary Sources allows users to search across several literature databases (Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, and others) to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Refine your search by selecting Document Type: Review. Search by title of the play, performer, venue, playwright, etc. Includes the Star Tribune, New York Times, and The Times of London. Also see our New York Times Archive, which goes back to 1851 and the Times (London) Digital Archive which goes back to 1785.
Searchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
MAC Reference ML102.M88 G3 2001
Musical theater around the world during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, covering performers, composers, writers, shows, producers, directors, choreographers, and designers.
eBook and MAC Reference GV1585 .I586 1998
A core reference work including signed entries and bibliographies, this covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
MAC Stacks PN2035 .O84 2001
A cross-cultural reference work exploring the diversity of expression found in rituals, festivals, and performances, uncovering acting techniques and practices from around the world.
A growing, diverse, digital library of videos and essays. Includes video playlists such as Male-Female Duets, Directing from Offstage, and Black History Month and essays around themes such as Dance in the African Diaspora and Women in Dance.
A curated online exhibit of people, places, and groups that have had an impact on the dance cultural heritage of the United States. Profiles include biographies, videos, essays, and ‘suggested reading’ lists for further research.