Classical Mediterranean and Middle East

Presents biographies and thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.

"The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live." --Publisher's website

"The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."--Publisher's website

Online version of the 2-volume Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world, published by Macmillan.

The Encyclopaedia of Women and Islamic Cultures is a reference work on gender studies and the Islamic world.

The first A-Z resource to catalog the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.

The new encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.

Revised and updated throughout, the fourth edition of Ancient Greece presents the political, social, cultural, and economic history and civilization of ancient Greece in all its complexity and variety.

A Dictionary of the Roman Empire provides easy access to the remarkable civilization upon which Western society was built.

With 1,125 entries and 170 contributors, this is the first encyclopedia on the history of classical archaeology. It focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the prehistoric and semi-historical cultures of the Bronze Age Aegean, the Etruscans, and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in Europe and Asia Minor.