Art History
Find Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides article references for journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. Offers cited reference searching.
- BASE This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowDPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering a range of topics and languages.
- Dissertations and Thesis - Open Access (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.
- MDPI This link opens in a new windowScholarly OA publisher since 1996. Supports many diverse, peer-reviewed, OA journals with over 35,500 academic editors. Serves scholars from around the world to ensure the latest research is freely available.
