EDUC 250: Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective
A Library Course Guide for EDUC 250: Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective
Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
Digital Initiatives and Scholarly Communication Librarian
Using this Guide
Welcome
This course guide is intended to provide links to information resources for researching topics in EDUC250:
Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective
Best Bets
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. For off campus access and to set up email notifications, you must create a free account with your Macalester email address while on campus or connected to the VPN.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes information covering disciplines in the sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Includes six citation databases: the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.
Meeting with a Librarian
Have questions about the research process? Don't struggle, reach out to a librarian for help! Students interested in research support can book a meeting with a librarian to:
- Narrow down research topic ideas
- Find background information
- Save time getting started with your research
- Use the library’s collections as well as worldwide and web resources
- Choose databases for discipline-focused research
- Learn more efficient searching method
To make an appointment, reach out to a subject librarian specializing in your topic.