All Guides: LING 100: Introduction to Linguistics: Getting Started

Research & Instruction Librarians

She/her

Contact:

Library Room 305A
hillemann@macalester.edu

651-696-6704

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Research & Instruction Librarian

Talia Nadir

she/her

Contact:

Library Room 305B
tnadir@macalester.edu

651-696-6805

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Library Resources

Getting Started

Questions or Concerns?

Are you wondering where to find or use information? We are experts who can help you with such things as overviews, deep scholarship, "missing" voices, data, and much more. Do you need to narrow your topic? Create a complicated citation by tomorrow? Contact us through email or simply fill out this form:

Meet with a Librarian

Overviews

Online Encyclopedia Collections

Scholarship

Scholarly, Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas, providing full text back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world. This custom link for Google Scholar includes the Macalester Library code and will display a "MACLINKS FULL TEXT" link next to resources available from Macalester Library. You will also see MACLINKS if you are logged in to the on-campus network. If you are off campus and don't use the above custom link, you can configure Google Scholar to display MACLINKS by customizing your library links settings.

Databases with Linguistics-Specific Content:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides literature including journal articles and book chapters on linguistics and related language science fields. Covers all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to semantics, and the various fields of linguistics (geographical, comparative, etc.).
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The primary database for literary and film scholarship.

WorldCat Search

Organize Your Sources: Citation Management Tools

RefWorks is a tool for organizing and sharing your research materials and citing them in a wide range of citation styles.
Refworks: Annotate pdfs, cloud based.

Zotero is an easy to use application for organizing your research materials, sharing them with collaborators, and citing them in a wide range of citation styles. It's free. Works best with Firefox.

Zotero: cloud and web based

Both: organize sources, sharing folders, importing citations from databases, capturing citations from websites, create citations.

Citation Style Manuals

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style. (Note: 7th edition available as an ebook)
Publication Manual 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Ebook Available. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.