A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
Scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.
Access to the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets and letters.
Journals
Afro-Americans in New York Life and HistoryEndeavors to encourage and publish research and scholarship pertaining to Afro-Americans in New York State; articles on race relations and racial attitudes, and those dealing with methodology and trends in local and regional Afro-American studies.
The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social ScienceEach issue of the Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, guest edited by scholars and experts in the field, presents more than 200 pages of timely, in-depth research on a significant topic of interest to its readership which includes academics, researchers, policymakers, and professionals.
Environmental HistoryThis interdisciplinary journal addresses issues relating to human interactions with the natural world over time, and includes insights from history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and many other disciplines.
Ethnic and Racial StudiesEthnic and Racial Studies aims to be the leading international journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world. As the leading journal in these areas we seek to provide an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of original research and theoretical analysis, drawing particularly on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, international relations, geography, history, social psychology and cultural studies.
Journal of African American HistoryJAAH, formerly The Journal of Negro History, founded by Dr. Carter G. Woodson in January 1916, is an official publication of ASALH. Now in its second century, the JAAH has long been the leading scholarly publication on African American life and history, and publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience. Recent and forthcoming JAAH special issues and symposia focus on Women and Slavery in the Atlantic World, The Legacy of Malcolm X, and African Americans and Movements for Reparations, Past, Present, and Future. JAAH readers include historians and scholars in the humanities and social sciences, including legal scholars, education researchers, and policy makers working in service of African American life, culture, and history; and the membership of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
Journal of African American StudiesThe Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent.
The journal features empirical, methodological, and theoretical papers as well as literary criticism. It covers the full spectrum of this interdisciplinary field, containing diverse methods and perspectives that include anthropology, art, economics, law, literature, management science, political science, psychology, sociology, social policy research, and others.
Journal of Black StudiesFor the last quarter century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the scholarship in the field, the Journal of Black Studies explores the most vital issues facing African American and Black populations.
Journal of Urban HistoryJournal of Urban History (JUH), provides scholars and professionals with the latest research, analyses, and discussion on the history of cities and urban societies throughout the world. JUH presents original research by distinguished authors from the variety of fields concerned with urban history. Each insightful issue offers the latest scholarship on such topics as public housing, migration, urban growth, and more. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Race & ClassRace & Class is a refereed, ISI-ranked publication, the foremost English language journal on racism and imperialism in the world today. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.
The Review of Black Political EconomyReview of Black Political Economy (RBPE), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is the leading outlet for research that examines issues related to the economic status of African-Americans, the African diaspora throughout the world. RBPE promotes scholarship on economic inequality and provides a viable forum where scholars can express their views on matters of public policy relevant to the economic well-being of marginalized populations. RBPE is a publication of the National Economic Association (NEA). The NEA stands in solidarity with those who are protesting anti-Black racism and its manifest violence against the Black community. This journal is a member of COPE.
Social ForcesEstablished in 1922, Social Forces is recognized as a global leader among social research journals. Social Forces publishes articles of interest to a general social science audience and emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry as well as explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics. Social Forces is published by Oxford University Press in partnership with the Department of Sociology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
