Student Protests: Unsettling Power Relationships and Cultivating Radical Hope
A resource guide for the 2021 International Roundtable
Films
- Berkeley in the 60s "Civil rights marches, anti-Vietnam War protests, the women's movement and the birth of the Black Panthers, all captured in their immediacy and passion in this gripping documentary. Featuring music from the Grateful Dead, Jimi Hendrix, the Band and many others."
- Symbols of Resistance, A Tribute to the Martyrs of the Chican@ Movement "Illuminating the untold stories of the Chican@ Movement with a focus on events in Colorado and New Mexico, the film engages student activism, police repression, and issues of identity, land, and community that still resonate in Chican@ struggles today. Through interviews with those who shaped the movement and rare historical footage, the film offers a window into a dynamic moment in history."
- Uprize! "Uprize explores the world that shaped the students of '76 and how the students transformed that world. On the morning of June 16, 1976, students gathered to protest against the use of the Afrikaans language as a medium of instruction in schools. What started out as a planned peaceful march turned into a bloody confrontation by the police. The student protests spread to other parts of South Africa causing economic instability which rapidly plunged the country into crisis. The Soweto uprising also became inspiration for novels, songs, films and young activists around the world. Uprize! looks at the political, social and cultural conditions that shaped the June 1976 Soweto Students Uprising, how those ideas we transformed into liberatory action, and how those actions helped shape the democratic society we live in today."
- Everything Must Fall "When South African universities raised their fees in 2015 there were peaceful protests on the part of the students at University of the Witwatersrand. During these protests the university called in the police force. The film shows how the conflict escalated and showed division among the university staff as well as exposing power relationships and inequality among the genders and races."
Articles
- "Supporting Students Who Protest Peacefully" A message from President Suzanne Rivera
- The Mac Weekly: Protests Coverage of the topic by Macalester's student-run newspaper
- "Activism Inside and Outside the Classroom" One alumn's story about being engaged in research and activism related to African American human rights.
Databases
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Student Activism on Campus in 20th-Century America This link opens in a new window The completed collection will include 150,000 pages drawn from dozens of special collection libraries and archives around the country. Materials include circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, publications, bulletins, letters, press releases, and ephemera, as well as meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window The American Indian Movement (AIM) was founded in 1968, at a time of social change and protest and the civil rights movement. AIM used the press and media to present its own unvarnished message to the American public. This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off, materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section. These primary sources provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism, as well as the attitudes of the US government towards this organization.
- Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window With a range of content focused on political extremism and radical thought in the UK, Europe, Australia and North America, Political Extremism provides a range of documents and audio recordings covering the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries.