Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

Finding OER: Getting Started

Getting Started

 

Many OER resources have been created and are available on the web, including open textbooks, courses, multimedia resources, and data. These can be found by searching regular search engines (like Google), but it is much easier to find them through dedicated OER repositories or libraries. Below is a sampling of such repositories and libraries.


Open Textbook Repositories

 

Textbooks

  • Open Textbook Library
    Provides a growing catalog of hundreds of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks across all disciplines.

  • OpenStax Textbooks
    Provides open textbooks that are peer-reviewed by educators, and can be reused and remixed to align with general course requirements.

  • The Open SUNY Textbooks
    Textbooks are available for anyone to access, download, and reuse under the terms of open licenses.

  • BCcampus Open Textbooks
    Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas, many of which are included in Ontario’s own eCampus Open Textbook Library. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks.
     
  • College Open Textbooks
    Tracks available open textbooks and provide the links. Currently, tracking more than 100 open textbooks for use.

  •  

Open Course Materials

 

Open Course Materials

  • MIT OpenCourseWare
    Features the materials from 2,015 MIT courses. Many courses provide video lectures and actual recordings of MIT classrooms.

  • Open Learning Initiative (Carnegie Mellon Univ)
    Provides open textbooks that are peer-reviewed by educators, and can be reused and remixed to align with general course requirements.
     
  • Open Yale Courses
    Features the video lectures of 42 renowned courses that are being taught at Yale. Each course includes a full set of video lectures accompanied by other course materials such as syllabi, suggested readings, and problem sets.

  •  

Open Video Content

 

Video

  • TED-Ed Talks​
    TED Talks provide over 1700 inspiring talks on a wide variety of topics. While some TED videos are not officially licensed with any kind of open licensing, many of the videos (including all of those in the TedEd collection) are available under a Creative Commons license for non-commercial use. Be sure to check the licensing for any video you want to use.

  • Vimeo
    Provides a Creative Commons licensed video collection which makes the filtering process much easier.
     
  • YouTube
    Provides millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos (among their billions of video collections). The key is filtering them to isolate the Creative Commons-licensed ones.

Open Images

 

Images

  • Wikimedia Commons
    A media file repository that is completely dedicated to providing educational media that are released either in the public domain or under Creative Commons license.

  • Flickr
    Hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed images. Notably, Flickr provides a separate Creative Commons licensed videos collection.

  • pxhere
    pxhere hosts thousands of high quality copyright-free images that have been shared by photographers. All images are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain..

  •