Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

Library Collection Review: Getting Started

This guide includes information about the Library's ongoing collection review. Please contact Katy Gabrio for assistance.

Background Information

The DeWitt Wallace Library staff has integrated the collection review process into our regular ongoing workflows in an effort to balance our mission to provide a vibrant collection that supports the current curriculum with our space and service needs. A full overview of our approach to collection management can be viewed here.

Review and Feedback Process

The list of titles for withdrawal can be reviewed at any time up until June 1st, 2019.  We encourage you to help us scan the list to discern if any titles listed should in fact remain in our collection.  The criteria (listed below) help ensure that the items on the lists are widely available, unused, potentially out of date, and accessible from other libraries as needed. Scanning the lists will help us determine if the criteria picked up a few things that we indeed may wish to keep.

Based on faculty feedback, titles on the list have also been identified in the collection with a bookmark. If you would like to see the title in context with other related materials shelved nearby you may stop by the library and find the titles on the shelves in the stacks. Please note that if you are requesting that we retain a title you will need to update the title list in the spreadsheet as outlined below.  

Requests to retain a particular title can be left in the "Feedback with Initials" column on the list.  Comments are viewable by everyone. Please include your initials or email address so that we can contact you if there are any questions.  If you have questions about the feedback process, please check with Katy Gabrio (gabrio@macalester.edu, x6703).

Titles on the withdrawal lists meet all of the following criteria: 

● were published in 1999, AND
● have not been checked out in at least 17 years (as far back as our data goes), AND
● are held by at least 100 other libraries in the U.S., AND
● are held by at least 3 other libraries in Minnesota, AND
● are not in special or non­circulating collections

Tips

  • Click here to view the list of titles for review.
  • The deadline for review is June 1, 2019.
  • The lists are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.  We have included the general subject class in the notes about each list.  Click here to see a comprehensive listing of the LC subject classifications.
  • A link to the WorldCat record for each title is included in the lists.
  • If you wish to view lists from previous reviews please contact Katy Gabrio (gabrio@macalester.edu).