Databases - CLAS 332-01: Intermediate Latin - Poetry - All Guides at Macalester College

Subscription Databases for Research on the Classical Mediterranean and Middle East

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides article references for journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. Offers cited reference searching.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital library of source materials for the study of the ancient world and beyond from the Tufts University Department of Classics.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Topics include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Note: Artstor has moved to the JSTOR platform. View the Artstor on JTSOR video playlist for tutorials on the new site. The legacy Artstor interface will remain available until August 1.

Library of high quality digital images of artistic photographs and artwork from museums and collections worldwide.

Open Access Databases and Digital Libraries

Europeana
This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many significant European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
World Digital Library
Contains primary source materials (books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films) from around the world presented in a highly searchable manner.