All Guides: SOCI/ INTL 280-01: Indigenous Peoples' Movements in Global Context: Primary and Secondary Sources

Getting Started

This is an excellent resource but a bit tricky to navigate.

Good to know:

Find the link to Documentation on the main page.
Main & Legal Documents link will lead you to finding information by region by clicking on Organizations & Governments (top right).
Pleas be aware that Keyword searching boxes are available on different pages and would produce different results.

Indigenous Peoples' Centre for Documentation, Research and Information
DOCIP is a Swiss non-profit organization that provides support for Indigenous Peoples. Many documents and links to useful web sites are included on their web site.

Scholarly Conversation

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal information across 50 social sciences disciplines. Offers cited reference searching.
Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Citations to international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, journals, newspapers, and magazine articles.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Citations to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, journals, newspapers, and magazine articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles in political science related fields including law, public administration/policy, and international relations.
BASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search engine for academic web resources - includes journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. Many open access resources.

News Resources

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.
New York Times Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to 4 years ago. Includes full page and article images. Most recent years of the Times can be searched in US Newsstream or New York Times - Digital Microfilm.
The Times Historical Archive, 1785–2014 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image archive to the Times of London for the years 1785-2014.

International Organizations

Organization websites with lots of primary documents, research, and current context information. Can be difficult to search and browse to find what you want. It can help if you know specific details about what you are looking for, such as the title of a report or its author(s). Be persistent with your searching.

Indigenous Peoples Resources from OHCHR
Overviews, documents, and other resources provided by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
IWGIA: International Work Group for Ingidenous Affairs
"IWGIA is an independent international membership organisation staffed by specialists and advisers on indigenous affairs. IAWGA supports indigenous peoples' struggle for human rights, self-determination, right to territory, control of land and resources, cultural integrity, and the right to development." [From site]
United Nations for Indigenous Peoples
Maintained by the United Nations Division for Social Policy and Development, this site contains many current resources, links to resources, data, and much more.
Universal Periodic Review
"The Universal Periodic Review (UPR) is a unique process which involves a review of the human rights records of all 192 UN Member States once every four years. The UPR is a State-driven process, under the auspices of the Human Rights Council, which provides the opportunity for each State to declare what actions they have taken to improve the human rights situations in their countries and to fulfil their human rights obligations. " [From the web site] Site contains reports and reviews, by country.

Legal & Policy

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.

Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
A Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.