All Guides: SOCI/ INTL 280-01: Indigenous Peoples' Movements in Global Context: Overviews & Background

Library Resources

Research and Instruction Librarian

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

305A Library

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Research & Instruction Librarian

Talia Nadir

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

305B Library

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Reference Collections

Wikipedia
Good place to start with overviews of a topic. Be sure to evaluate the content, especially with regards to date and the kinds of references cited.

Encyclopedias

Countries and Their Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember
Ebook Available
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by James Minahan
Call Number: Ebook Available, MAC Reference: D860 .M56 2002
Alphabetically arranged, each entry on a group includes demographic, geographic, cultural, and historical/national information. Bibliographies are included for further research. A comprehensive index is included in the fourth volume.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Yale University Staff; David Levinson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780816118151
Publication Date: 1991-1996
Ebook Available
Legal Systems of the World by Herbert M. Kritzer (Editor)
Call Number: MAC Reference: K48 .L44 2002
ISBN: 1576072312
Publication Date: 2002-06-20
Ebook Available

Search the Library Catalog

Ethnographies

Ethnographies provide detailed information about a culture and its history. Pay attention to the date the ethnography was written. You can find ethnographies in Worldcat or in the full text database eHRAF. eHRAF also provides concise, authoritative background information on cultures included in it.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Provides paragraph-level searching of ethnographic and other documents describing cultural and social life compiled into ethnic and culture profiles. Includes searching and browsing using detailed classification systems.
Macalester WorldCat This link opens in a new window
There is no single way to search for ethnographies in Worldcat. Frequently, you will find that names of groups of people, location names, and terms like 'social life', 'customs', 'manners', 'ethnology', and 'ethnography' are often associated with ethnographies, but not always. Try a variety of terms with your searches. E.g. 'Maori Social Life', or 'Sami Ethnography'.

Case Studies In Cultural Anthropology
A series of ethnographies covering multiple cultures.