Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

Ecology: Finding data


U.S. Government Data

 

The U.S. governmental agencies provide access to a wide variety of ecology-related topics and environmental issues. To search for data across all federal agencies in a single search, use the DATA.gov search engine.

 

Environmental Protection Agency data

The Environmental Protection Agency provides a number of different access points to find data on their site: three of the more prominent are EnviroFacts, the EPA Data Finder and The Environmental Dataset Gateway.

 

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)

NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of data sets available.

 

International Data


UNdata

UNdata brings statistical databases from United Nation agencies within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.


The World Bank Open Data Catalog

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

Minnesota Data


MN Pollution Control Agency Environmental Data

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) collects a wide variety of data on environmental conditions and pollution sources.

Data Repositories / Other Sources

 

National Phenology
​Network Data

Project focused on collecting standardized ground observations of phenology by researchers, students and volunteers. The Network makes phenology data, models, and related information freely available to empower scientists, resource managers, and the public in decision-making and adapting to variable and changing climates and environments.

 

ESA Data Registry

The data sets registered here are associated with articles published in the journals of the Ecological Society of America. See individual registry entries for citation information as well as usage rights.

 

Ecological Data wiki

This site is intended to serve as a source for identifying datasets that are useful to the study of ecology and quickly figuring out the best ways to use them. The idea is to use the knowlege and effort of the entire ecological community to compile this information rather than relying on each scientist to contribute information for their own studies. Just think of it as the Wikipedia of ecology data.

 

DataBasin

Provides open access to thousands of scientifically-grounded, biological, physical, and socio-economic datasets on environmental conservation research.

 

Global Biodiversity Information Facility

An international open data infrastructure which allows anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet.

 

Dryad Digital Repository

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying all types of biological scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

 

Taxonomy

Contains the names and phylogenetic lineages of more than 160,000 organisms that have molecular data in the NCBI databases. New taxa are added to the Taxonomy database as data are deposited for them.

 

TreeBase

Repository of phylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. TreeBASE accepts all types of phylogenetic data (e.g., trees of species, trees of populations, trees of genes) representing all biotic taxa.