Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

Ecology: Finding resources on the Web

Highlighted Web Resources



Scitable's Knowledge Project: Ecology

Created by Nature Education, this web site is "a reliable, openly accessible library of peer-reviewed educational science content for students in a range of fields." Articles are "written by experts in their field and reviewed and vetted by other experts."




UNEP's Global Resource Information Database (GRID)

The United Nations Environmental Programme Global Resource Information Database (GRID) is a database that makes use of a combination of ground photographs, current and historical satellite images, and narrative based on extensive scientific evidence to illustrate how humans have altered their surroundings and continue to make observable and measurable changes to the global environment.




Birds of North America

BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA and Canada. BNA Online contains image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and feature recordings of the songs and calls of their species, recordings selected from the extensive collection of Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.

U.S. Government Web Sites


The U.S. governmental agencies can provide a wealth of information on ecology-related topics and environmental issues. Below is a listing of major related agencies. To search across all federal agencies in a single search, use the USA,gov search engine.


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Federal agency responsible for protecting human health and the environment by reducing environmental risks, to maintain diverse and sustainable ecosystems, and to work with other nations to protect the global environment.


U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

Provides reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life. Major focus areas include climate and land use change, ecosystems, environmental effects of mineral and energy resource extraction and use, and our nation's environmental health


Bureau of Land Management (BLM)

Responsible for protecting the natural landscape, wildlife habitat and recreational areas that are part of 235 million acres of federal land. Provides reports and publications on land management and conservation with an emphasis on the western half of the United States. Use the search feature as some of the BLM reports are not easily found by browsing.


National Park Service (NPS)

The National Park Service preserves 417 areas covering more than 84 million acres. Searching this website is an effective way to find studies, projects and plans for conservation, ecological impacts and environmental analysis through the service.


U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Ecological Services (USFWS)

Administer the conservation, development, and management of our country's fish and wildlife resources. Responsibilities include enforcing federal wildlife laws, protecting endangered species, managing migratory birds, and conserving and restoring wildlife habitats.

International Development Organization Web Sites

 

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

USAID is the lead U.S. Government agency that works to end extreme global poverty and enable resilient, democratic societies to realize their potential.

 

The World Bank

Global partnership with 189 member countries which comprises five institutions working for sustainable solutions that work with countries to end poverty and boost prosperity for the poorest countries.  Priorities include access to health care, education, water and sanitation, and energy.

 

Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health

 

A portal hosted at University of Georgia that features 27 sites dealing with all aspects of invasive species and pests plus some aspects of forest/natural resources management. Quality links to other organizations and .govs are well-chosen. Free images are plentiful, and can be used with proper attribution, after user registration.

 

Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center

 

Organization whose work broadly focuses on the ecology, evolution and conservation of migratory birds and which helps raise awareness about migratory birds and the need to protect diverse habitats across the Western Hemisphere.

 

ReefBase: A Global Information System for Coral Reefs

 

ReefBase is a project funded by the United Nations which gathers info about coral reefs into one repository. Site includes online data on the location, status, threats, monitoring, and management of coral reefs in over 120 countries; an online library of coral reef related publications containing 25,000+ references including 5,498+ downloadable publications; ability to create custom maps with online Geographic Information System; and photo gallery of 4,200 coral reef-related photos.

 

Center for Species Survival

 

The Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute's Center for Species Survival (CSS) is a collaborative group of scientists and animal care professionals that conducts basic and applied research, especially in the fields of reproductive and animal welfare sciences to understand and implement practical solutions to help rare species survive.

 

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

 

Search by species name (scientific and common). The advanced search adds taxonomic, geographical, habitat, threats, and assessment criteria. Searches can be as general or specific as you wish; i.e., birds affected by pollution, assessments that need updating. There are useful PDF and video guides for search tutorials.

Minnesota Web Sites


Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

Works to protect and improve Minnesota's environment and enhance human health in the state.


Minnesota Polution Control Agency

Works to protect and improve Minnesota's environment and enhance human health in the state.


Environmental Quality Board

Made up of reps from state agencies and the public, provides leadership and coordination across state agencies on environmental issues that are multi-jurisdictional. Focus areas include pollinators, water quality and climate change. Produces a state environmental report card.