All Guides: Asian Languages and Cultures: Dictionaries and Reference Sources

Dictionaries
Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. --Website

If you're off-campus, sign in via your institution (Macalester).
Chinese Dictionary & Kangxi Dictionary
A free, online Chinese and Kangxi dictionary, part of the CNKI project.
zdic.net
A free, online Chinese, Mandarin and Kangxi dictionary

A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar by Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
Call Number: MAC Reference - Main level PL679 .M34 1989 and eBook
A Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar by Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
Call Number: MAC Stacks - Level 3 PL533 .M259 1995 and eBook

Encyclopedia of Asian History by Ainslie T. Embree (Editor)
Call Number: MAC Reference - Main level DS31 .E53 1988 and eBook
Encyclopedia of India by Stanley A. Wolpert
Call Number: MAC Reference - Main level DS405 .E556 2006 and eBook
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by Sandra Buckley (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Main level DS822.5 .E516 2002
ISBN: 9780415143448
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
Offering extensive coverage, this Encyclopedia is a new reference that reflects the vibrant, diverse and evolving culture of modern Japan, spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945 to the present day. Entries cover areas such as literature, film, architecture, food, health, political economy, religion and technology and they range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer overview essays giving an in-depth treatment of major issues. With over 700 alphabetically arranged entries, this Encyclopedia will be an invaluable reference tool for students of Japanese and Asian Studies, as well as providing a fascinating insight into Japanese culture for the general reader. Suggestions for further reading, a comprehensive system of cross-referencing, a thematic contents list and an extensive index all help navigate the reader around the Encyclopedia and on to further study. --Catalog record
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by Gen Itsaka (Editor); Edwin O. Reischauer (Editor); Shigeto Tsuru (Editor)
Call Number: MAC Reference - Main level DS805 .K633 1983 and eBook
Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong
Call Number: eBook

Bilingual Dictionaries

Multidisciplinary reference sources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.