Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Macalester College Archives: COVID FAQ

Access to Archives and Special Collections

  • There is no access or use during the Quiet Period (the Library will be closed)
     
  • After the Quiet Period, access to and use of collections in the College Archives and Rare Books Room are available on a limited basis, according to the following:
     
    • Adhering to campus guidelines and protocols; also see the Library's COVID FAQ
       
    • Remote or virtual communication in the preferred mode for all research requests, consultations, and mediated access to collections
       
    • In-person visits are only available to current members of the Macalester community (currently students, staff, and faculty)—a Macalester ID is required to enter the Library
       
    • In-person research appointments to work with collections
      • must be scheduled well in advance, with sufficient time for:
        • consultation about which specific collections material are needed
        • materials to be quarantined before and after for 3+ days per REALM guidelines
           
    • In-person class visit and instruction
      • instruction and class use of collections can be done synchronously, asynchronously, in-person, remote, etc., See the LibGuide for more info or contact holtwerle@macalester.edu.
      • must be scheduled well in advance, with sufficient time to:
        • consult on which specific collections material are going to be used
        • quarantine materials before and after for 3+ days per REALM guidelines
      • class visits may need to be broken into small groups to ensure space for social distancing

 

updated 8/25/2020