Artists' Books in Macalester College Library's Special Collections
Books about Artists' Books
Artist Author by
From fanzines to books of visual poetry, sketchbooks to illustrated books, commercial fashion catalogs to photo albums. Defined loosely as a book done by an artist, which is itself a work of art, an "artist's book" is an idea that goes back to the time of illuminated manuscripts. Departing from that tradition however, which ended with the development in the 19th century of the livre de luxe, artists since the 1960's have attempted radical approaches to the book as autonomous art form. Spurred on in recent times by the advent of desktop publishing, this phenomena has continued to grow. This book features numerous examples, as well as informative text, and is sure to delight both bibliophiles and art lovers alike.
Call Number: N7433.3 .L37 1998ISBN: 1885444079Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Artists' Books by
"This anthology is the first in-depth look at artists' bookworks. A series of essays, written by longtime participants in and observers of the field, address the following questions: what are the origins, attributes, and what is the potential of artsists' books; what are their historical precedents; what issues are they addressing; who is making and publishing them? The essays are supplemented by extensive bibliographies and a list of collections.""In addition to providing a much-needed resource for artists, teachers, and collectors, this book will form a bridge between book artists and their audience by providing ready access to information about a much discussed but little known art form."--Book jacket flap.
Call Number: N7433.3 .A75 1985ISBN: 0898220416Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The Century of Artists' Books by
"Over the last ten years this book has become the definitive text in an emergent field: teachers, librarians, students, artists, and readers turn to the expertise contained on these pages every day."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: N7433.3 .D78 2004ISBN: 1887123695Publication Date: 2004-11-02
Artists Books by
"Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature is the first and only published guide to writings on artists books. It contains five lucid essays and a carefully researched, thorough bibliography. An important reference tool for anyone interested in artists books."--Jacket.
Call Number: N7433.3 .K64 1998ISBN: 1887123180Publication Date: 1998-05-02
Freedom of the Presses by
The artist's book as activist tactic: a toolkit Freedom of the Presses is at once a textbook and a toolbox for using artists' books and creative publications to further community engagement and social justice projects. Far from being a staid survey of an art historical practice, Freedom of the Presses intervenes in an ongoing discussion about art and activism in the present day by considering the place of the art book in the 21st century. The publisher, Booklyn, has been involved in this conversation since 1999, when a group of six artists decided to band together to promote contemporary artists' books and publications. Booklyn's focus has always been voracious, encompassing street art, punk and activist culture alongside more conventional artists' books. This restless energy is present in Freedom of the Presses, which brings together a provocative mix of humorous, intimate and scholarly writing in order to expand how we think about the concept, content, design, production and distribution of artists' and activists' publications today. Aimed at a global community of librarians, publishers and readers, it offers models of how to reimagine contemporary artists' bookmaking as a socially engaged, political practice. With essays by Kurt Allerslev, Tia Blassingame, Sarah Kirk Hanley, FLY-O, Karen Eliot, Richard J. Lee, Florencia San Mart n, Ganzeer, Suzy Taraba, Stephen Dupont, Bridget Elmer, Janelle Rebel, Marshall Weber, Anton Wurth, Xu Bing, Deborah Ultan and Aaron Sinift, Freedom of the Presses enacts the dialogue it calls for, inviting artists and activists to weigh in on the place of artists' books in the most pressing social, political and cultural issues of our time.
Call Number: Lower Level - Art Collection N7433.3 .F85 2018ISBN: 0692166785Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Spring 2024: INTD 130-01 Introduction to Artists' Books
In Spring 2024, librarian Ginny Moran will be teaching a one-credit course, INTD 130-01 Critical Library and Archival Practices: Introduction to Artists’ Books, Wednesday nights from 7:00 - 8:00 pm
What is an artists’ book? Are they works of art that belong on display, or should they be "read" in a library? Using Macalester’s artists’ book collection as the foundation for exploration, we will study the forms and functions of these works. Starting in the 1950s and continuing to the present, this course will consider how this genre was formed and what influences it. We will review selected artists’ books, survey popular book types, and briefly discuss the genre’s obsession with terminology. In considering artists’ books, we will focus on such questions as these: Why is it a book? Why this medium? How is it a book? We will discuss artistic strategies and techniques as we consider how to determine if a book is successful or not. We will explore basic book-making techniques using traditional and modern forms, culminating in a final book project in which students synthesize their knowledge of materials and form by making their own book. The course covers content development, object design, integration of various media, digital and low-tech image making processes, and the functionality of various bookmaking materials, culminating in an exhibit of the completed artists’ books.