All Guides: EDUC 250: Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective: Getting Started

Topic Overviews

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

WorldCat Search

Scholarship

Scholars often use a case study in order to examine a broader issue, and its impact, within a local context. Use these article databases to search for case studies by scholars on your topic.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of scholarly journals and books from all disciplines, with stronger coverage for the humanities and social sciences. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.

***

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals, books, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities covering the field of Latin American studies.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.

News Databases (local and international)

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
PressReader Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of newspapers from over 100 countries and 60 languages. Includes 90 days of back issues and translation in 16 languages. MUST SIGN UP for an account while on campus. After signing in, click on PressReader icon, then access. For additional tips, see mobile or computer tabs on this guide: https://proquest.libguides.com/pressreader/mobile
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. For off campus access and to set up email notifications, you must create a free account with your Macalester email address while on campus or connected to the VPN.

Education Agencies & Organizations

U.S. Dept. of Education
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
American Federation of Teachers
The American Federation of Teachers is a union of professionals that champions fairness; democracy; economic opportunity; and high-quality public education, healthcare and public services for our students, their families and our communities.
International Bureau of Education (IBE)
The International Bureau of Education (IBE) is the UNESCO institute specializing in educational contents, methods and structures. - See more at: http://www.ibe.unesco.org/en/about-the-ibe.html#sthash.V1TB39yL.dpuf
Global Partnership for Education
GPE is a multi-stakeholder partnership and funding platform that aims to strengthen education systems in developing countries in order to dramatically increase the number of children who are in school and learning.
UNESCO
United Nations: Global Issues
Overviews, with links to resources, of major global issues.
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
A Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
International Organizations (list)
A list of international Education organizations from the Assoc. of International Education Administrators

Government Sources: when researching specific countries, look at the websites of the education departments of those countries. Also look at other government departments that pertain to your topic to find information about published research or government programs.

Education as Global Force: PubPub

Education as Global Force: PubPub

EDUC 250: Building Trust: Education in Global Perspective

Research & Instruction Librarian

Contact Info:

Library Resources