Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 280/CLAS 294 Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt: Getting Started

Research guide to complement the course, ART 280-01/CLAS 294-01 Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt

Search the Library Catalog

Books and eBooks

Search for Images

Good starting points for your research

Index Islamicus

Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.

Art Full Text

The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Index to journal articles in history, especially non-US history, covering 1450-present.

Perseus Digital Library

Digital library of source materials for the study of the ancient world and beyond from the Tufts University Department of Classics.

Other sources for books and articles

Topic Overviews and Background Information

Writing about Art

Citation in Art History

The most commonly used citation style in historical scholarship is Chicago, notes and bibliography. Check out our Citation Guide for other styles, and more in-depth information about Chicago. For help with citing primary sources, see this resource from the Library of Congress.

Related Research Guides