Access over 800 Educational videos in this collection including timely science and history topics. Videos include The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews, Behavioral Science, AP Human Geography, Great Directors, Great Authors of the British Isles and Great Irish Authors, and the BBC Shakespeare Plays.
The Digital Library of the Middle East brings together 127,443 digital records of materials held in museums, libraries, and archives worldwide. The DLME aggregates digital records of published materials, documents, maps, artifacts, audiovisual recordings, and more from the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. It also provides an array of applications, tools, and descriptions that enrich the content and facilitate browsing, search, and interpretation.
The Docuseek2 Complete Collection contains 1800 exclusive documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. The Docuseek2 Collection has a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more.
Izvestiia (Известия) Digital Archive covers the "complete archive" of Izvestiia (Известия), from its founding in 1917 through present. The database presents "the Kremlin’s newspaper of record" as full-image text searchable files. As of October 2019, the archive holds 30,101 full text, full image issues.
The Moscow News digitial archive is a collection of 4,411 full-text issues of the Russian, English-language newspaper. The collection covers issues dating from 1930 to 2014. The archive is full-image with fully searchable text.
The digital archive of Ogonek (Огонек) contains 4,481 full-text issues of the Russian illustrated magazine. The collection covers issues dating from 1923 to 2017. The archive is full-image with fully searchable text.
A weekly Black newspaper founded in 1936 by the publisher of the Chicago Defender, The Michigan Chronicle played a significant role in 20th century civil rights. The Chronicle’s support of organized labor and the democratic party were seen as radical in the newspaper’s early years. The newspaper played a critical part in breaking down the barriers of racism, bigotry and discrimination in Detroit and throughout the state.
Like its older sibling, Current Digest of the Russian Press, this weekly serial publication launched early in 2012 (after a pilot issue in August 2011) provides English translations of timely articles selected from domestic Chinese news publications. The digital archive from East View contains 373 issues dating from 2011 to the present.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press.
The Japan News provides access to the English-language daily from the publisher The Yomiuri Shimbun. Hosted on the Global Press Archive platform, this newspaper archive includes over 27,251 issues covering the period of 1955-2019.
Open Access Databases
Just a few of many Open Access databases we like. Find more options in the A-Z list.
A digital preservation repository that provides access to millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world. For enhanced access to materials, log into HathiTrust using your Macalester email credentials.
Scholarly OA publisher since 1996. Supports many diverse, peer-reviewed, OA journals with over 35,500 academic editors. Serves scholars from around the world to ensure the latest research is freely available.