All Guides: ANTH 230-01: Ethnographic Interviewing: Getting Started

Research and Instruction Librarian

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

305A Library

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Research & Instruction Librarian

Talia Nadir

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

305B Library

Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Educational Studies, Geography, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

Reference Collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.

Scholarship

Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Includes articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and obituaries.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides research articles on anthropology, archaeology, and biological, cultural and linguistic anthropology. Individual account setup within allows personalization options such as saved searches and email alerts.

Google Scholar
Google's database of scholarly sources. Many of these resources will not be available in full text.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource with popular, scholarly, and peer-reviewed articles and citations. Includes speeches, newspapers, and polls.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides articles, industry reports, and more on subject areas related to business, with top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to research in areas related to cultural studies, communication and mass media studies, rhetoric, speech, and digital, electronic and new media.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center -- ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research database in the field of education. Use to find journal articles, educational research reports, curricula, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large archival collection of core scholarly journals in the major academic areas, providing full text back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Macalester WorldCat This link opens in a new window
There is no single way to search for ethnographies in Worldcat. Frequently, you will find that names of groups of people, location names, and terms like 'social life', 'customs', 'manners', 'ethnology', and 'ethnography' are often associated with ethnographies, but not always. Try a variety of terms with your searches.

Macalester Subject Guides
Subject guides made by librarians for doing research in the academic disciplines taught at Macalester. Check out the Best Bets section on the guides for databases closely related to each field.

Worldcat (Books, Government Docs, More)

Media from and about subcultures

These are ideas for searching for information by and about your chosen subcultures.

Websites: Your subculture might have it's own website or sites for advocacy or affiliated organizations.
Archives: Libraries and other institutions/ organizations often have archives to keep records of their history. Some of these will be online. Others you could contact or visit. For example, Macalester College archives, Minnesota Historical Society Archives, union archives, informal organization archives, etc.
Social Media

Newspaper Resources

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
Mac Weekly, The This link opens in a new window
Archive for Macalester's weekly student newspaper publication.
Star Tribune Archive This link opens in a new window
Current content as well as archives going back to 1986. Star Tribune is the largest newspaper in Minnesota and among the larger in the Midwest.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center. --Website
Minnesota Historical Society
The Minnesota Historical Society is a dynamic and widely recognized educational organization that is a trusted resource for history. It is highly valued for its historical resources, educational impact, service, advocacy and leadership

Data

U.S. Census
Explore U.S. Census data by topics and geographic areas.
Macalester Institutional Data
Social Science Data Guide
Macalester Library's guide for frequently used data sources in the social sciences.

Tips:

Look for data cited in the academic literature. Scholars will often cite the data they used and where they found it. Or, if the scholars have collected data themselves you can contact them and ask them to share it with you.
Search the web. Add words like 'data', 'statistics', or 'survey' to your search.
Think about who might collect your data. Government agencies (e.g. U.S. Department of Labor), or advocacy and professional organizations (e.g. American Trucking Associations) are a couple examples.