All Guides: Religious Studies: Getting Started

Library Resources

Research & Instruction Librarian

Ginny Moran

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library, room 303

651-696-6398

Subjects: Architecture, Art & Art History, Asian Languages and Cultures, Classical Mediterranean and Middle East, Dance, English, French and Francophone Studies, German Studies, Religious Studies, Russian Studies

Research & Instruction LIbrarian

Jackie Beckey

she/her/hers

Contact:

Library Room 302
jbeckey@macalester.edu

651-696-6702

Subjects: African Studies, Architecture, History, Media and Cultural Studies, Music, Philosophy, Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies, Theater, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Best Bets

AfricaBib This link opens in a new window A collection of Africana social science titles consisting of 2 bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature and African Women's literature.
- This link opens in a new window
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Part of the Web of Science interface, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides article references for journals across the arts and humanities disciplines, including art and art history, archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. Offers cited reference searching and is a critical resource for conducting literature reviews.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window Access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window Indexes Western language literature including books, chapters from books, periodical articles and pamphlets on Asian studies.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window The Religion and the Law subcollection contains more than 3,500 books, periodicals, and bibliographies. This database provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The database includes Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles. Also included are more than 40 periodicals, as well as hearings, scholarly articles, bibliographies, and other related books.

New Books in Religious Studies

Islam in Pakistan: A History

The Buddha's Wizards: Magic, Protection, and Healing in Burmese Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Human Sacrifice: Archaeological Perspectives from Around the World

Morals Not Knowledge: Recasting the Contemporary U.S. Conflict Between Religion and Science

Hell and its rivals : death and retribution among Christians, Jews, and Muslims in the early Middle Ages

Is Judaism Democratic?: Reflections from Theory and Practice throughout the Ages

Discovering Second Temple Literature: The Scriptures and Stories that Shaped Early Judaism

Slavery's Long Shadow: Race and Reconciliation in American Christianity

An Introduction to the New Testament: Contexts, Methods & Ministry Formation

Divine and Demonic Imagery at Tor de'Specchi, 1400-1500: Religious Women and Art in Fifteenth-Century Rome

Tomb – Memory – Space: Concepts of Representation in Premodern Christian and Islamic Art

Modernism on the Nile: Art in Egypt Between the Islamic and the Contemporary

What We Talk About When We Talk About Hebrew: And What It Means to Americans

Loving Water Across Religions: Contributions to an Integral Water Ethic

The religious right and American politics

Blood and faith : Christianity in American white nationalism

Featured Journals

Biblica
Dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testaments and intertestamentary literature and covers fields of research such as exegesis, philology and history.
Journal of Qur'an Studies
Aims to encourage & promote the study of the Qur'an from a wide range of scholarly perspectives, reflecting the diversity of approaches characteristic of this field of scholarship.
Religious Studies
Religious Studies is an international journal devoted to the problems of the philosophy of religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions. More than 25 articles are published each year, and the journal also contains an extensive book review section. --from journal homepage

Scholarly Overviews and Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Includes The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Religion and Law in America, Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity, the King James version of the Holy Bible, the Qur'an, among other religious studies reference books. Over 700 online reference works including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window Search across nearly 200 subject-specific reference encyclopedias including Encyclopaedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Buddhism, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Love in World Religions, New Catholic Encyclopedia, and other titles that address religion from various disciplinary perspectives.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Includes A Dictionary of Hinduism, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Companion to the Bible, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions among other religious studies and related disciplinary titles. Also includes general language reference and other subject reference resources.

Saint Paul Public Library

St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection.

You can sign up at https://sppl.org/ecard. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device.

More info:

Related Research Guides

Anthropology
by Beth Hillemann Last Updated May 23, 2023 105 views this year
Asian Languages and Cultures
by Ginny Moran Last Updated May 24, 2023 22 views this year
History
by Jackie Beckey Last Updated May 24, 2023 248 views this year
Sociology
by Beth Hillemann Last Updated May 23, 2023 129 views this year
Psychology
by Beth Hillemann Last Updated May 23, 2023 738 views this year