AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles. Consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). If you need further assistance with using this database, feel free to ask a librarian.
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Contains several titles which provide a general overview of African history, including "Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society," "Encyclopedia of African History," and "An African Biographical Dictionary."
A portal to a wide range of multimedia collections about Africa, created by Michigan State University in partnership with African universities and cultural heritage organizations. Features journals, videos, primary sources, oral histories, podcasts, and more.
CRL's collection of rare, historical newspapers from across the globe, available digitized or on microfilm (which can be viewed and digitized with the library's microfilm reader). Inquire with librarians for more information.
Many African historical materials are currently held in European institutions. This site allows you to search across the digital archives and holdings of many European galleries, archives, libraries, and museums, including the British Library, Judaica Europeana, Bodleian Libraries, EuroPhoto, the Natural Europe Project, and Museo Galileo.
A comprehensive overview of African history, published as 8 separate volumes and covering prehistoric times up to 1975. Also available in ebook format -- search the library catalog to view all volumes and versions.
Created by the Minnesota Historical Society Library, this research guide links to oral histories, photos, local resources, and other materials related to Somali and some other east African immigration to Minnesota.