Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content

HIST 194-01 The Empire Strikes Back: Resistance in the U.S. Empire: Getting Started

Research guide to accompany the course, HIST 194-01 The Empire Strikes Back: Resistance in the U.S. Empire

Citation in History

The most commonly used citation style in historical scholarship is Chicago. Check out our Citation Guide for other styles, and more in-depth information about Chicago. 

Finding Library Resources Near You

Taking classes remotely this year? Here is a tutorial on how to find resources at a library near you!

Video not loading? Get help here.

Saint Paul Public Library

St. Paul Public Library has more than 42,000 ebooks and 300 audiobooks that you can check out online, including an extensive fiction collection. 

You can sign up at https://sppl.org/ecard. Once you've registered, you can borrow and download ebooks and audiobooks to view on an e-reader, computer, or mobile device. 

More info:

Best Bets

America: History and Life with Full Text

Scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from before European contact to the present.

America's Historical Newspapers

Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers from 1827-1998.

American History in Video

Collection of newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage and documentaries.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA materials come from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of these are freely available and include; photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc.

Macalester WorldCat

Online catalog of materials owned by the library at Macalester College and libraries worldwide. Search for books, journal titles, videos, DVDs, articles, and much more. Macalester Worldcat will indicate which library (including Macalester) owns a particular item. Use the Interlibrary Loan button to ask for items owned by other libraries.

Local Archives and Sources

eBooks

Book cover

The Encyclopedia of Empire

The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.

Book cover

Arc of Empire: America's Wars in Asia from the Philippines to Vietnam

Devoting equal attention to Asian and American perspectives, the authors follow the long arc of America's four wars in Asia across seventy-five years from the Philippines through Japan and Korea to Vietnam, tracing along the way American ambition, ascendance, and ultimate defeat. They show how these wars are etched deeply in eastern Asia's politics and culture" –Publishers description

Book cover

Keywords for American Cultural Studies

A key resource for understanding terms and debates in the field of American Studies.

Book cover

The Fall of the US Empire: Global Fault-Lines and the Shifting Imperial Order

Looks at the debates amongst critical theorists about the decline of US power.

Book cover

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World

Sections particularly relevant to this course: Empire & Imperialism, American Colonial Empire

Book cover

Blowback: The Costs and Consequences of American Empire

The term "blowback," invented by the CIA, refers to the unintended consequences of American actions abroad. In this incisive and controversial book, Chalmers Johnson lays out in vivid detail the dangers faced by our overextended empire and reveals the ways in which our misguided policies are planting the seeds of future disaster.

Book cover

The Forging of the American Empire

This is the story of a nation--the United States--that has conducted more than 160 wars and other military ventures while insisting that it loves peace and in the process has forged a world empire while maintaining its innocence of imperialistic designs. From Mexico to Lebanon, from China to the Dominican Republic, from Nicaragua to Vietnam, the United State has intervened regularly in the affairs of other nations. Yet the myth that Americans are benevolent, peace-loving people who will fight only to defend the rights of others lingers on; excesses and cruelties, though sometimes admitted, usually are regarded as momentary aberrations. –Taken from book jacket flap.

Book cover

Militarized Currents: Toward a Decolonized Future in Asia and the Pacific

Foregrounding indigenous and feminist scholarship, this collection analyzes militarization as an extension of colonialism from the late twentieth to the twenty-first century in Asia and the Pacific. The contributors theorize the effects of militarization across former and current territories of Japan and the United States, such as Guam, Okinawa, the Marshall Islands, the Philippines, and Korea, demonstrating that the relationship between militarization and colonial subordination-and their gendered and racialized processes-shapes and produces bodies of memory, knowledge, and resistance"--Provided by publisher.