Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content

Spring 2020 ENGL 394-03 Demonology: Getting Started

Supporting research guide for the Spring 2020 ENGL 394-03 Demonology course taught by Dr. Penelope Geng

Search the Library Catalog

Identifying eBooks at Mac

Search for your topic in the library catalog, limiting to materials owned by Macalester College and the ebook format.

screen shot of limiting by library and format in the library catalog

If you know the collection you want to search, you may want to start your search in the eBook collections noted below. In particular, Credo Reference, eBooks (Gale), and Oxford Reference Online, which are collections of subject encyclopedias, are best searched within their own collections.

Macalester's eBook Collections

Related Guides

Where to Start

For most research in English Literature, there are a couple of main places to start, MLA International Bibliography and Gale Literature. MLAIB, as the premier database for modern languages and literature, has the "superpower" of being able to search for authors and work titles as subjects, making disambiguation much easier. It uses the same platform as Academic Search Premier and several other databases, including America: History and Life, and Historical Abstracts with Full Text which can both be useful for setting context in literary analysis. Gale Literature includes collected essays of literary criticism across decades, giving the researcher the opportunity to easily compare commentary and critique in the context of how something might have been received when first published compared to later reworkings. It also contains background materials on authors, including primary source materials such as interviews.

Finding literary criticism using Gale Literature

Using Gale Literature's Topic Finder as a way to explore the literature

Finding Specific Journals

When you're working with a citation from another source, you need to start by looking for the journal title in our catalog to find the article in one of our databases. This tutorial shows you the steps to do this.

Important Journals @ Mac

"English Literary Renaissance (ELR) is a leading journal for new research in Tudor and Stuart literature, including the Sidneys, Spenser, Shakespeare, Jonson, Donne, Milton, and their many contemporaries. In addition to critical work, ELR also publishes review essays and occasional editions of short significant manuscripts, such as letters, legal documents with literary relevance, and poetry." --website

 

Cover of Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies

The Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies is the official publication of the Group for Early Modern Cultural Studies and regularly publishes articles and reviews on cultural history from the late fifteenth to the late nineteenth centuries. It provides a venue for exchange between scholars in such traditionally diverse fields as sociology and anthropology; history, economics, and political science; philology and literary criticism; art history and iconology; and African, American, European, and Asian studies. By extending its boundaries in the direction of cultural theory, gender studies, colonial and postcolonial studies, and postmodernism, JEMCS challenges the boundaries that separate such traditional scholarly disciplines while also bringing those disciplines into contact with each other." --website

"Renaissance Drama is dedicated to the investigation of traditional canons of drama and the exploration of the significance of performance in early modern cultures. Each issue presents essays that question or apply newer forms of interpretation to the study of early modern plays, theater, and performance. Articles also address works written in traditions other than the English, the discourses that shaped and were shaped by varied institutions of drama across Europe and beyond, and manifestations of performance and performativity both on and off the theatrical stage." --website

"Renaissance Quarterly is the leading American journal of Renaissance studies, encouraging connections between different scholarly approaches to bring together material spanning the period from 1300 to 1700. The official journal of the Renaissance Society of America, RQ presents about twenty articles and over five hundred reviews per year, engaging the following disciplines: Americas, Art and Architecture, Book History, Classical Tradition, Comparative Literature, Digital Humanities, Emblems, English Literature, French Literature, Germanic Literature, Hebraica, Hispanic Literature, History, Humanism, Islamic World, Italian Literature, Legal and Political Thought, Medicine and Science, Music, Neo-Latin Literature, Performing Arts and Theater, Philosophy, Religion, Rhetoric and Women and Gender." --website

"Renaissance Studies is a multi-disciplinary journal which publishes articles and editions of documents on all aspects of Renaissance history and culture. The articles range over the history, art, architecture, religion, literature, and languages of Europe during the period. Editions of important documents appear in their original languages, with introduction, textual apparatus, notes and (occasionally) translations of the documents and sources into English. The journal also contains a substantial book reviews section and often illustrated reviews of major exhibitions worldwide." --website

"Shakespeare Bulletin is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal which publishes articles at the cutting edge of Shakespearean and early modern performance studies and theatre history. Since its early days as the publication of the New York Shakespeare Society in 1980 and its incorporation of the Shakespeare on Film Newsletter in 1992, Shakespeare Bulletin has grown into the leading journal of early modern performance studies. It is a distinguishing feature of this journal that it welcomes scholarship on the full range of plays not only by Shakespeare but also by other early modern dramatists from the mid-sixteenth century to the Interregnum. The journal also publishes theatre, film and book reviews, providing a record of performance and scholarship in a variety of media throughout the world. The journal is edited by an international team of scholars and is based in the Centre for Early Modern Studies at the University of Exeter (UK)." --website

Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, Shakespeare Quarterly is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies. Submissions are double blinded. The Quarterly, produced by Folger Shakespeare Library features notes that bring to light new information on Shakespeare and his age, issue and exchange sections for the latest ideas and controversies, theater reviews of significant Shakespeare productions, and book reviews to keep its readers current with Shakespeare criticism and scholarship."SQ is a mine of new information and new insights." -- Peter Stallybrass, University of Pennsylvania, Project MUSE

"Founded in 1966, the Milton Quarterly was the first journal to be devoted exclusively to the life and writings of John Milton. Four highly readable issues each year cover the latest developments in the field with news, abstracts, notes, articles, lists of books received, reviews, and monographs." --Project MUSE

"Milton Studies is published biannually as a forum for scholarship on John Milton (1608-74), using a range of approaches and methodologies to elucidate the life and works of the influential poet and polemicist. Essays submitted for publication may focus on any aspect of Milton’s life and writing, including biography; literary history; Milton’s work in its literary, intellectual, political, or cultural contexts; Milton’s influence on or relationship to other writers; or the history of critical and creative response to his work. Target audience includes graduate students and literary scholars who specialize in Milton or in early modern (Renaissance) literature, as well as (secondarily) historians and literary historians of early modern religion, politics, and cultural history." --JSTOR

"ELH welcomes sophisticated, groundbreaking essays on all literatures in English and on cultural forms and contexts related to those literatures. Continuing a tradition that stretches back to 1934, the journal's editors balance historical, critical, and theoretical concerns in seeking to publish the very best work on English-language writing from its beginnings to the present day." --Project MUSE

 

"Essays in Criticism covers the whole field of English Literature from the time of Chaucer to the present day. The journal maintains that originality in interpretation must be allied to the best scholarly standards. Moreover, whilst always pursuing new directions and responding to new developments, Essays in Criticism has kept a balance between the constructive and the sceptical [sic], giving the journal particular value at a time when criticism has become so diversified. In addition to the articles, Essays in Criticism has lengthy and searching book reviews, and the 'Critical Opinion' section offers topical discussion on a wide range of literary issues." --website

"MLQ accepts articles that pay attention to the broader scope of literary history regardless of genre or period. The focus of publication—and the sticking point—is literary history. General theory, historicist contextualizations, and self-contained close readings are not published. Essays should concern the situation and the action of literary works in time. Chronology must matter to an essay's argument or theoretical concern, together with the impact or interrelationship of imaginative texts." --website

"Modern Philology sets the standard for literary scholarship, history, and criticism. The journal features contributions on literature in all modern world languages, including productive comparisons of texts and traditions from European and non-European literatures. Its wide editorial scope encompasses literary works, literary traditions, and literary criticism from, roughly, the time of Charlemagne to the present. MP also publishes insightful reviews of recent books as well as review articles and research on archival documents." --website

"PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884 PMLA has published members’ essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature." --website

"Representations publishes sophisticated, highly readable essays on the workings of culture, both past and present. Long known for its innovative essays on art, intellectual and legal history, science and gender studies, theories of history, and literary phenomena such as authorship and national and ethnic canon formation, Representations' reach extends as well to such topics as the history of the emotions, national identity, new media, and the renewal of aesthetics in criticism." --website

"The Review of English Studies was founded in 1925 to publish literary-historical research in all areas of English literature and the English language from the earliest period to the present. From the outset, RES has welcomed scholarship and criticism arising from newly discovered sources or advancing fresh interpretation of known material. Successive editors have built on this tradition while responding to innovations in the discipline and reinforcing the journal's role as a forum for the best new research." --website

"SEL focuses on four fields of British literature in rotating, quarterly issues: English Renaissance, Tudor and Stuart Drama, Restoration and Eighteenth Century, and Nineteenth Century. ... SEL is well known for the commissioned omnibus review of recent studies in the field that is included in each issue. In a single volume, readers might find an argument for attributing a previously unknown work to Shakespeare or de-attributing a famous work from Milton, a study of the connections between class and genre in the Restoration Theater, an interdisciplinary exploration of the art of the miniature and Fielding's novels, or a theoretical exposition of the "material sublime" in Romantic poetry written by women." --Project MUSE

"Founded in 1903, Studies in Philology addresses scholars in a wide range of disciplines, though traditionally its strength has been English Medieval and Renaissance studies. In recent years Studies in Philology has published articles on British literature before 1900 and on relations between British literature and works in the Classical, Romance, and Germanic languages. Prior to June 1987 it also published articles focused on literature other than British." --JSTOR