All Guides: Anthropology: Topic Overviews

Topic Overviews: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Anthropology-Specific
Online Reference

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers by Richard B. Lee (Editor); Richard H. Daly (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521571098
Publication Date: 2008
Ebook available. Contains case studies, by leading experts, of hunting and gathering peoples, in major world regions, plus thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. Surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers’ encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by Timothy Darvill
ISBN: 9780191579042
Publication Date: Publication Date: 2010-02-08 Ebook available
Countries and Their Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028658964
Publication Date: 2003
This guide provides a reference for anyone seeking information about the predominant and variable cultural forms, mores, and modes of expression in virtually every country. Entries cover many of the elements that together constitute the predominant culture, as well as lost cultures of the world.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Call Number: MAC Reference CC70 .E53 2008 Ebook Available
ISBN: 9780123739629
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook Available
ISBN: 9780195122008
Publication Date: 2002
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387299051
Publication Date: 2006
Ebook Available
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: Call Number: GN307 .E525 2010
ISBN: 9780415409780
Publication Date: 2010
Ebook Available
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by David Levinson
ISBN: 9780816888405
Publication Date: 1991-1996
Ebook Available
Key Concepts in Ethnography by Karen O′Reilly
ISBN: 9781446202210
Publication Date: 2010
Ebook Available

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to general and subject-specific reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations and proverbs). Provides a graphics-based Concept Mapping option for topic exploration.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across subject-specific reference encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Resource of reference materials such as dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Provides database-wide searching, subject searching across sources, and individual title searching.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access to original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.