Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

SPAN 343 Culture and Politics in Spain from Civil War to Today: Getting Started

Companion research guide to the course SPAN 343 Culture and Politics in Spain from Civil War to Today

Library Catalog

Dictionaries

Scholarly Topic Overviews

Beginning Your Research

Nexis Uni

Credible source for news, legal and business sources that is updated daily. Includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. For Business Nexis Uni covers company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Index to journal articles in history, searchable by time period of interest. Focus is on world (non-North America) history.

Informe Académico

Contains articles from Hispanic/Spanish language magazines. The database covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.

Access World News: Research Collection

International, national, regional, state, and local newspaper articles and video clips. Includes over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)

Current and archived news from United States and international news sources, including the Star Tribune, New York Times, The Times of London, and The Wall Street Journal. Coverage is different for each title. For earlier newspaper coverage, see our historical archives, such as the New York Times Archive, which goes back to 1851.

Socio-Political Indexes

Language, Literature, Cultural Studies Indexes

Primary Sources

General Tips

Search Tips

  • Use both Spanish and English terms to vary your results
  • Choose terms carefully and try synonyms - a search for Spanish football teams finds different items than Spanish soccer teams
  • Try changing how items you find are sorted. Most databases show results based on a relevancy ranking determined by your keywords. If you're looking for when something was first discussed in the literature, you might want to see the oldest things first, so sorting oldest to newest would make sense.

Citing Sources

Citing your sources is a way to introduce your reader to the conversations you've been having with others (through articles, books, media, etc.) about your topic. Disciplines use various citation styles as both a rhetorical strategy and a way to signal relative importance of certain aspects of the sources to the reader, among other reasons. For example, Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style emphasizes the names of authors, which is important in the fields of literature and literary analysis - critical forms of discourse in that discipline. See our Citation Guide for more assistance and tips.