Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

BIOL 489-01 -- Biology Seminar: Accessing the scholarly literature

Search the Library Catalog

Research & Instruction Librarians

Librarian Office Hours in
     Olin Rice Smail Gallery
  Tue/Thur 11 a.m. - 12 p.m.


Librarians are available to help with database searching, citation questions, research management software or any other library questions that you may have. Look for us in Olin/Rice Smail Gallery on Tuesdays and Thursdays.


    Ron Joslin
    Reference & Instruction Librarian
    joslin@macalester.edu
    x6522 / Lbrary 118


    Dave Collins
    Reference & Instruction Librarian
    collins@macalester.edu
    x6347 / Library 122

Have a question?

chat loading...

Finding Journal Articles

 

Biology Databases

These are the best resources for finding journal articles when doing biology related literature searching.


 

General Biology Databases

  • Web of Science
    Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database and a terrific place to begin searching for literature on any topic in the sciences. It includes the Science Citation Index, the leading citation database in the sciences, containing records of articles from more than 5,900 of the highest impact science journals across all science disciplines.

  • ​​Google Scholar
    Tool which searches for scholarly literature on the web. It's a good starting place but not comprehensive enough to be the only place to do in-depth research. While it does often uncover good stuff that other databases don't, this resource should be used in ADDITION to the various library-subscribed resources.

    Set up MacLinks in Google Scholar: Go to SETTINGS and select 'Library Links' from menu on left. Type Macalester College in the search box. Check the box for 'Macalester College - MACLINKS FULL TEXT' when it appears.

 

Biomedical / Health Sciences
 

  • ​​​PubMed
    PubMed comprises approximately 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text PDFs of recent articles is commonly available.

  • Alt HealthWatch
    This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles in PDF for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

  • PLOS Publications
    Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Provides original published reports of ideas, discoveries, and research results in the life biological sciences and medicine.

 

Biodiversity/Ecology
 

  • ​​​BioOne
    Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 high-impact biological, ecological, and environmental science research journals. Most are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. Journal titles can be browsed individually or you can search across the entire collection.

  • GEOBASE
    Covers topics related to geography, ecology, and the earth sciences. Includes journal articles, reports, monographs, and conference proceedings from 1973 to the present. Updated weekly.

  • Agricola
    Database created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA which indexes journals, magazines, conference reports, theses and dissertations, books and book chapters from 1970 to the present. Includes citations, most with abstracts, for publications in the areas of agriculture, nutrition, ecology, biotechnology, and botany.

  • GreenFile
    Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes governmental, scholarly and general titles and content related to the ecological and environmental effects of corporations, nations and governments. Includes some open-access full-text.

  • JSTOR Biological Sciences Collection
    Archival collection of more than 260 core scholarly journals in the biological sciences, particularly strong in ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, and conservation. Provides full text back to the date of first publication for each journal title up to within the current 2-5 years (most years not available).

  • PLOS Publications
    Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Provides original published reports of ideas, discoveries, and research results in the life biological sciences and medicine.

  • GREENR
    The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) database provides comprehensive overviews of global environmental issues. Articles, news items, data & statistics, conference proceedings, videos, and more are included to provide context and background information for each issue.