Ask a question!

chat loading...
Skip to main content
Banner Image

ART 284/RELI 294 Art & Architecture of Byzantium and Medieval Europe: Getting Started

Companion research guide for ART 284/RELI 294 Art & Architecture of Byzantium and Medieval Europe

WorldCat

Primary Sources for Medieval Studies

By searching relevant topics in the library catalog (above) and adding the word <<sources>>  to your search, you can find books that contain primary sources. Hint: you can further limit your search by language by selecting languages in the left-hand navigation of your search results.

Below are some other places to find primary sources online.

Reference Sources in Medieval Studies

Best Bets for Beginning Research

Art Full Text

The main database for research in art and art history. Includes both popular and academic titles.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Index to journal articles in history, especially non-US history, covering 1450-present.

Index Islamicus

Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers Muslim life including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs and book reviews. Journals and books indexed o the article and chapter level.

International Medieval Bibliography

Comprehensive and up-to-date interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa during the period 400-1500.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Access to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.

Sources for Images

The most used image collections for general research in art history

Other image collections for more specialized work

The following image resources here are primarily intended for educational, course-related uses only. If you find any of the links do not work or if you have a resource you would like to add to the list, please contact your subject expert librarians or the Visual Resources Center.